Home » Food » New Hobby

New Hobby

As the Holidays approaches so do all of the questions of, What do you want for a Christmas present? Because of what happened last year with my husband and I both losing our jobs, I’ve been scared that it’ll happen again this year. (Even though I really don’t think that will happen, but it’s still in the back of my mind.) I think that I’ve finally figured out what I want for Christmas! I’ve wanted to pick up photography again and learn more about the different setting on my camera and how to take a better picture. Unfortunately my little 6 mega-pixel Canon power shot camera doesn’t take great pictures anymore. I want to stick with the Canon brand because 1. I’m familiar with the settings and 2. Canon is a pretty awesome brand that’s been around for a long time.

I really want to start doing more food photography. I’m hoping that this will push me to actually prepare more meals instead of quickly making something to fill me up. The main problem is that I live in an apartment and there isn’t enough natural light that comes in. I could make a light box, but that’s not that same thing as sunlight. This will also get me to start blogging more or at least to start posting the picture I take. My husband has a really nice Canon camera that he uses to take pictures whenever he storm chases or to do night time photography or to even take pictures of friend’s motorcycles. I don’t want to have the possibility of messing up his camera or breaking it, so I think I would feel more comfortable with having my own camera. I know it’s weird because we’re married, but that’s just the way I am.

There’s a lot of stuff out there on how to do food photography. Which is a really good thing because I would have no idea where to start. Just by reading blogs I can tell the difference between a picture that was done by following the basic steps of food photography and one that wasn’t. It makes a huge difference for me whether or not I pin that particular thing. After getting my new camera I’ll start buying supplies and props from local hardware stores and thrift shops. Then I can start cooking more of what I see on Pinterest and making my own pins!

Leave a Reply

