Home » Nerdy Things » Here there be Dragons

Here there be Dragons

This past week I went to go see How to Train Your Dragon 2 in theaters. I absolutely loved it! The first How to Train Your Dragon was really, really good, but this one was much better. I’ve always been fascinated with dragons in myth, lore, and fiction. According to the Chinese zodiac, I’m born in the year of the dragon, so I guess you could say that dragons are part of who I am (I actually don’t take any of the zodiac stuff seriously, I just think being born in the year of the dragon is cool). This newest installment of the How to Train Your Dragon series did a very good job with the story line, the animation (the characters grow up and look realistic), and making you feel like your actually flying on a dragon. The only time that I’ve gotten to fly in the open air was in an open cockpit bi-plane whenever I was fifteen years old. You can’t really just let your arms out and feel free whenever your scared of possibly falling out of the plane.

There are so many different stories, movies, and games that have dragons in them. The BBC TV series Merlin, the book series The Dragon Keeper Chronicles, the book and movie The Hobbit, the movies Dragonheart, How to Train Your Dragon, and Reign of Fire, and from in the game Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim. Many of these stories depict dragons as ferocious creatures only wanting revenge, gold, or to destroy everything that humans have ever created. There are a lot of stories that also show that dragons are just misunderstood beings that really just want to be loved. Whether dragons were one way or the other we will never know, but that just gives us a chance to use our imagination. I do wonder what it would be like if we had dragons as pets? And by pets I mean like in How to Train Your Dragon. Creatures that we can ride and play with, but that can also kick butt if needed. I know that I would totally trade my car in for the chance to ride my dragon to work instead. Although people can’t really drive that well here in Northwest Arkansas so I don’t know how well they would be able to ride a dragon. Hmm…maybe that wouldn’t be the best idea. Haha :)

Anyway, I guess that I’ll just get to enjoy all of the different stories that have to do with dragons until we find out that dragons still exist. They’ll mostly like be the kind that wants to kill all of humanity, but oh well.

-Dana

Leave a Reply

