Home » Sunday's Lesson » The King is Coming…How are your Investments?

The King is Coming…How are your Investments?

Sunday's LessonThe parable found in Luke 19:11-27 tells the story of a ruler that went away for a time, leaving his servants with a some of money. Two of the servants invested the money that they were given and were able to present their master with more than what they were given upon his return. One servant however feared the master and hid his money away and did not try to make a profit from it.

The master called this servant wicked because he did nothing with what he was given. Are we like this servant? I know that for myself I fall into this category. Every follower of Jesus receives the same amount of spiritual capital to save and invest until Jesus comes back.

1-Time. Everyone has the same 24 hours in a day to use. I need to stop wasting it on keeping up with my favorite tv shows.

“Teach us to number our days,  that we may gain a heart of wisdom.” Psalm 90:12

2- Money. It doesn’t matter how much we have, but what we do with it.

” I tell you, use worldly wealth to gain friends for yourselves, so that when it is gone, you will be welcomed into eternal dwellings.” Luke 16:9

3- Truth. Do we cherish God’s word? The Bible that was written with divine inspiration from the Holy Spirit? Do we defend what we know to be true? Our culture isn’t set up to present us with the truth, so we have to be prepared to step up to that plate.

4- Opportunities. When we see a need in the church we shouldn’t see if it fits our needs or schedule. Servants don’t say to their King, ‘Sorry, but it’s me time right now! I can’t do what you’ve commanded me to do.’

5- Prayer.  I feel like this one is a given, but I know how easily I get distracted and don’t even take 5 minutes to pray. Probably because I have this idea in my head that I have to make it a legit thing instead of just Talking to my Father! If I can call my earthy father and talk about building a tiny house, why can’t I “call” my Heavenly Father and talk to Him about how He wants me to build my life.

We all have a responsibility to invest in what we’ve been given, so what whenever we meet out Lord and Master, He will say to us,

“‘Well done, my good servant!’” Luke 19:17

-Dana

Leave a Reply

