Home » Sunday's Lesson » The Ascension: Jesus’ final instructions to us.

The Ascension: Jesus’ final instructions to us.

Sunday's LessonThis Sunday we finally finished a two year long study on the book of Luke. Not that Luke isn’t a great book, I’m glad to be moving on to other things! There are a few things that I really like at the end of the gospel of Luke though. And that would be the Ascension of Jesus Christ.
Luke 24:36-53 is about Jesus giving his final instructions to his disciples before finally going to be with his Father.

Here are some things that the ascension means for us…
1. It signifies the completion of His earthly work. (Our rebellion has separated us from God. We can’t save ourselves, but because of what Christ did we have a way out of that sin and separation. “For the Son of Man came to seek and to save the lost.” Luke 19:10)
2. It allows Him to prepare a new home for us. (Jesus loves us so much that he’s crafting a room for each of us individually. “Let not your hearts be troubled. Believe in God; believe also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. And you know the way to where I am going. Thomas said to him, “Lord, we do not know where you are going. How can we know the way?” Jesus said to him, “I am the way, and the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” John 14: 1-6)
3. It allows Him to intercede for us. (He’s allowing praying for us. And He prays with the proper perspective. “Consequently, he is able to save to the uttermost those who draw near to God through him, since he always lives to make intercession for them.” Hebrews 7:25)
4. It allows Him to pour out the Holy Spirit and equip us for His service. (The Holy Spirit couldn’t come until Jesus left the earth. “But you will receive power when the Holy Spirit has come upon you, and you will be my witnesses in Jerusalem and in all Judea and Samaria, and to the end of the earth.” Acts 1:8)
We have been given an amazing power, the power of the Holy Spirit. What are we going to do with that power though? There’s a semi-famous quote that I’m sure you’ve heard, “With great power comes great responsibility.” Even though that quote isn’t used in the Bible, I think that it hits the nail right on the head. We do have a responsibility, “Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age.” Matthew 28:19-20.
I know that it brings my Heavenly Father so much joy whenever I obey His commands. :)
I’m going to start reading through the book of Psalms so you guys might see some stuff from there on this blog. Starting tomorrow night I’m also going to be going to a new bible study. Things might be a little more jumbled than before, so if you’ll hang in with me, it hopefully will be an encouraging experience.

-Dana

Leave a Reply

