Home » Sunday's Lesson » Be Holy: Another call for Christians

Be Holy: Another call for Christians

Sunday's

I hope everyone is enjoying their Labor Day weekend. Mine has been a wonderful four day of being able to enjoy the outdoors and indoors. :) Friday and Saturday I biked a total of 25 miles on the Razorback Greenway (bike/walking trail in NWA). My awesome dad biked all of that with me and my awesome mom bike just over 4 1/2 miles of that (she’s a beginner). Thankfully today I’m not sore like I thought I would be. Maybe this means I’m actually starting to get back in shape. And I didn’t even have to go to a gym to do it. Woo-Hoo!

Sunday’s lesson was a call for us to be holy. Now I’m not going to say how if you drink your going to hell. But as Christians we called to live a holy, spotless, sinless life.

“But just as he who called you is holy, so be holy in all you do; for it is written: ‘Be holy, because I am holy.'” 1 Peter 1:15-16

It is hard to live a holy life whenever everything around us is crumbling and falling into sin. But what does it mean to be holy? It means to be set apart from that which is not of God. People have to tendency to think that to be holy you can’t have fun or that you’re being punished.

Holiness is a picture of what it is to be like Jesus and to be one with God.

  1. God’s holiness is Absolutely Awesome…and a little scary too!
  2. God’s holiness should Ruin us!
  3. God’s holiness provides provision for our sin!

(Check out the story in Isaiah 6 :1-8.)

There have been times where I’ve been around someone and I’ve felt more holy then them (this is very bad I know), but more often than not, I’ll be around someone who I feel is Way more holy then me and I feel like I need to go pray for the rest of the day. When the unholy comes in contact with the holy, we become very conscious of our own sinfulness. The change that needs to happen is that we must be Undone before we can be remade by Christ.

We must see our sin in the face of a Holy God and the Holy Spirit must awaken us from our sinfulness before we can accept the amazing gift of Grace that’s been extended to us.

 Through him you believe in God, who raised him from the dead and glorified him, and so your faith and hope are in God.” 1 Peter 1:21

-Dana

Leave a Reply

