Home » 30 Day Challenge » 30-Day Blog Challenge-Day 5 & Pin Of The Week- #16 Eggs in a Basket

30-Day Blog Challenge-Day 5 & Pin Of The Week- #16 Eggs in a Basket

30 Day Blog Challenge

30 Day Blog Challenge

Since it’s Wednesday it’s gonna get a little crazy up in this blog! Just Kidding! I’m totally not a gangsta!
I am going to combine my Pin of the Week with my blog challenge for today, and it’s the 5th of November. For those of you that don’t know the significances of this date in history here a little lesson. (I do know what happened, but I will be giving you what a Google search comes up with.) Check out this link for the whole scoop!
The time: 1605. The place: London, England. Guy Fawkes attempted to blow up the House of Lords (Parliament) with gunpowder. This plot quickly developed two different followings. Those that were happy that he almost achieved his goal, and those that were glad that he got caught before he could carry anything out. There ended up being a lot of religious battles because of this plot. Catholics and Puritans didn’t really get along at that time. Over time the violence surrounding the event did stop and now Guy Fawkes Day (or Guy Fawkes Night) is celebrated with large organized events, bonfires, and fireworks. The movie V of Vendetta, released in 2005 staring Hugo Weaving and Natalie Portman, depicts a future world were the character V chooses to end the corruption of the British government by blowing up Parliament just like Guy Fawkes attempted to do all those years ago. There’s a rhyme that helps you to remember what happened on Guy Fawkes Day…

“ Remember remember the fifth of November
Gunpowder, treason and plot
I see no reason why gunpowder treason
Should ever be forgot…”

For this weeks P.O.T.W. I found a recipe for the breakfast that is cooked in the movie V for Vendetta. I don’t really like my eggs cooked this way, but my husband, Josh, has made this before and I know that he likes it. Egg in a Basket. They didn’t have hearts in the movie though.

Egg in a Basket from Food 4 Tots

Egg in a Basket from Food 4 Tots

I was trying to figure out a way to tie in my blog challenge with the whole Guy Fawkes theme, but I couldn’t find anything that would work. The challenge for today was to show a picture of myself from two years ago.

IMG_2536.JPG

This was the day before my wedding on August 3, 2012. I was about to go get my nails done with my mom. The girls at Starbucks were pretty happy for me, and I was pretty excited myself. :)

-Dana

Leave a comment